

Nursing luminaries honored

ANA President Ernest J. Grant receives the Civitas Award.

THE AMERICAN ACADEMY OF NURSING (Academy) honored five distinguished nursing leaders during its 2021 Health Policy Conference in October for their outstanding contributions to improve care, advance health equity, and promote the nursing profession.

Ernest J. Grant, PhD, RN, FAAN, the first man to be elected president of the American Nurses Association (ANA), was presented with the Civitas Award, which recognizes an individual who exemplifies extraordinary dedication to excellence in promoting quality care. Grant has over 30 years of nursing experience and is an internationally recognized burn-care and fire-safety expert. Among many accolades, he received a Nurse of the Year Award from former President George W. Bush in 2002 for his work treating burn victims at the World Trade Center after the 9/11 attacks. Grant. a North Carolina Nurses Association member, has used his training in emergency settings to advance the important role of nursing in promoting wellness and to guide ANA's priorities during the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition, he led the work of ANA in partnership with leading nursing organizations to launch the National Commission to Address Racism in Nursing, which examines the impact of racism on nurses, patients, communities, and healthcare systems.

The President's Award, which recognizes an individual who has made extraordinary, lifelong contributions to improving the health of individuals, families, or communities, was presented to Roy L. Simpson, DNP, RN, DPNAP, FAAN, FACMI, professor and assistant dean for technology management at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University. Simpson's trailblazing informatics work has made a critical impact on healthcare delivery and organizational change, especially through his innovative development of the nursing minimum data set, which has allowed for the standardized collection of essential data, a linchpin for systems optimization. Simpson is a Georgia Nurses Association member.

The Academy presented Antonia M.Villarruel,

PhD, RN, FAAN, professor and Margaret Bond Simon Dean of Nursing and senior fellow at the Leonard Davis Institute of Health Economics at the University of Pennsylvania, with the Health Care Leader Award in recognition of her impact in shaping health policy. Created in 2008, this award recognizes an influential national leader dedicated to improving the health of the nation via contributions to organizational excellence. Villarruel, a Pennsylvania State Nurses Association member, is a bilingual nurse researcher and academic leader who has committed her career to improving the health of under-resourced Latino communities.

The Academy presented **Catherine Alicia Georges, EdD, RN, FAAN**, chairperson of the department of nursing at Lehman College of the City University of New York, with the Lifetime Legacy Award, created in 2019 to recognize an extraordinary individual who has dedicated their life to advocating for positive health system changes. An Academy Living Legend, Georges is devoted to eliminating disparities and improving the health of minorities and the disadvantaged in the communities around her, especially those in New York and her hometown borough of the Bronx, during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Academy presented Louise Woerner, MBA, FAAN, chairperson and chief executive officer of HCR Home Care, with the Outstanding Leadership Award. This distinction recognizes an honorary fellow for exemplary service and perseverance as a champion of nurses and the profession. Woerner's entrepreneurship led her to found HCR Home Care, which has provided patients with high-quality care while employing interdisciplinary teams. She received the Presidential Award for Entrepreneurial Excellence from former President Ronald Reagan for her work. Woerner understands the critical role of nurses in interprofessional teams and is steadfast in elevating the nursing profession, which is evident in her guidance as a founding member of the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Leadership. AN



Ernest J. Grant accepts the Civitas Award.