CommunityHome Page FeaturedInnovationWorkplace ManagementYear of the Nurse and the Midwife

ANA names 2020 National Awards Recipients


13 honorees recognized for their exceptional leadership in healthcare.

The American Nurses Association (ANA) announced its 2020 National Awards recipients in May. ANA’s National Awards honor outstanding nurses and champions whose dedication and achievements have contributed significantly to the nursing profession and healthcare.

Globally, the nursing profession marks a milestone in 2020, as the World Health Organization has declared it the International Year of the Nurse and Midwife in honor of the 200th anniversary of the birth of Florence Nightingale.

“ANA is honored to celebrate the achievements of these nurses and champions, who are exemplary leaders and advocates, and whose contributions have advanced the field of nursing,” said ANA President Ernest J. Grant, PhD, RN, FAAN. “As we navigate the challenges of this pandemic, now more than ever, we need to recognize the vast contributions of nurses.”

This year’s recipients embody the characteristics chosen to signify the Year of the Nurse: excellence, leadership, and innovation. Three RNs are being
inducted into ANA’s Hall of Fame. Nine RNs and one nurse champion are receiving ANA’s Honorary
Awards. A ceremony to honor the 13 award recipients will be held later this year.

Hall of Fame Award

ANA established the nursing Hall of Fame Award to recognize individual nurses’ commitments to the nursing field and their impact on the health and social history of the United States.

ANA is honored to induct three individuals into the Hall of Fame in 2020:

• Rose Constantino, PhD, JD, RN, FAAN, FACFE
Pennsylvania State Nurses Association

• Jeri Milstead, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN
Ohio Nurses Association

• Tim Porter-O’Grady, DM, EdD, APRN, FAAN, FACCWS
Georgia Nurses Association

Honorary Awards

The Honorary Award recipients are highly accomplished RNs who are recognized for their outstanding service to the profession in categories ranging from diversity to patient advocacy to legislative success.

Distinguished Practice in Nursing Awards

The Distinguished Direct Patient Care Award recognizes an individual RN who provides exemplary direct patient care and contributes to the advancement of nursing practice.

• Vicki Freedenberg, PhD, RN
Maryland Nurses Association

The Foundations of Nursing Practice Award recognizes an individual RN for achieving outstanding accomplishments in nursing research, nursing education, or nursing practice.

• Kimberly Bagley, DNP, RN, AGPCNP-BC, AGACNP-BC, CCRN
North Carolina Nurses Association

The Public Health Service Award recognizes the outstanding contribution by an individual to public health.

• William E. Rosa, PhD, AGPCNP-BC, FAAN, FAANP
ANA-New York

Diversity in Nursing Awards

The Diversity Award recognizes an individual RN or a group of RNs for long-standing commitment and significant contributions to the advancement of diversity and inclusion within the nursing profession.

• Brigit Carter, PhD, RN, CCRN
Individual Member Division

• Ronald Lee Hickman Jr., PhD, RN, ACNP-BC, FAAN, FNAP
Ohio Nurses Association

Nurse Exemplars Awards

The Leadership in Ethics Award recognizes an individual RN who has authentically demonstrated the highest standards of ethics and leadership in their daily nursing practice.

• Laurie Badzek, LLM, JD, MS, RN, FAAN, FNAP
Pennsylvania State Nurses Association

• Jeanie Sauerland, MA, BSN, RN
Texas Nurses Association

Nursing Champions Awards

The Advocacy Award recognizes an individual RN who embraces the role of advocate as part of their professional identity.

• Patricia La Brosse, MS, RN, PMHCNS-BC
Louisiana State Nurses Association

• Cynthia Zolnierek, PhD, RN, CAE
Texas Nurses Association

The Champion of Nursing Award recognizes an extraordinary leader who is not a member of the nursing profession but has demonstrated a commitment to ANA’s mission through distinguished service.

• Michael Singer
Chief Executive Officer, Careismatic Brands, Inc., formerly Strategic Partners, Inc.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.

cheryl meeGet your free access to the exclusive newsletter of American Nurse Journal and gain insights for your nursing practice.

NurseLine Newsletter

  • Hidden

*By submitting your e-mail, you are opting in to receiving information from Healthcom Media and Affiliates. The details, including your email address/mobile number, may be used to keep you informed about future products and services.

Test Your Knowledge

Which of the following is correct about Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever (RMSF)?

Recent Posts