Magnet® and Pathway to Excellence®Nursing LeadershipPractice MattersProfessional DevelopmentWorkplace Management

Modifying the Magnet model: The shape of things to come


The Magnet™ model has a new look and focus. To provide greater clarity and direction and eliminate redundancy in the 14 Forces of Magnetism, the ANCC has created a new model emphasizing 5 Model Components. This model reflects a greater focus on measuring outcomes, provides a framework for nursing practice and research, and serves as a roadmap for organizations seeking Magnet recognition.

1. Transformational leadership
Healthcare is undergoing a transformation, and today’s leaders must transform their organization’s values, beliefs, and behaviors. Leading people where they want to go is fairly easy, but a transformational leader must lead people where they need to be to meet the demands of tomorrow. Such leadership requires vision, influence, clinical knowledge, and expertise as well as an understanding that transformation may require atypical solutions and create turbulence.

2. Structural empowerment
Structures and processes developed by influential leaders provide an innovative environment in which professional practice flourishes and an organization’s mission, vision, and values help achieve desired outcomes. Strong relationships with community organizations also strengthen practice and improve patient outcomes. Achieving these results requires an organization to have a strategic plan, structure, systems, policies, and programs. The organization also needs to develop, direct, and empower the staff to find the best ways to accomplish organizational goals and achieve desired outcomes.

3. Exemplary professional practice
The essence of a Magnet organization is exemplary professional nursing practice. An organization must understand the role of nursing with patients, families, communities, and the interdisciplinary team as well
as nursing’s use of new knowledge and evidence. This component focuses on what professional practice can achieve.4. New knowledge, innovation, and improvements
Strong leadership, empowered professionals, and exemplary practice are building blocks for Magnet organizations, but they aren’t the final goals. Magnet organizations have a responsibility to contribute to patient care, the organization, and the profession in terms of new knowledge, innovations, and improvements. Our current systems and practices need to be redesigned and redefined for us to succeed. This Component includes new models of care, the application of existing evidence, new evidence, and visible contributions to the science of nursing.

5. Empirical outcomes
The original Magnet Recognition model focuses
primarily on structure and process. It has no quantitative outcome requirements because benchmark
data for comparison with best practices weren’t available. But the question today isn’t “What do
you do?” or “How do you do it?” It’s “What difference did you make?” Magnet organizations must use
quality data to measure outcomes and demonstrate solutions to the problems in our healthcare

Learning about the new model
The new ANCC Magnet Application Manual will incorporate the 5 Components as the basis for achieving Magnet recognition. The 14 Forces of Magnetism will remain the foundation of the program.

The ANCC will co-host a series of workshops about the new Magnet model at hospitals around the country. Learn from the experts how these changes impact the program and your organization’s documentation submission. Visit
magnet/workshops.html for dates, locations, and registration information.

© 2008. American Nurses Credentialing Center. All Rights Reserved.

cheryl meeGet your free access to the exclusive newsletter of American Nurse Journal and gain insights for your nursing practice.

NurseLine Newsletter

  • Hidden

*By submitting your e-mail, you are opting in to receiving information from Healthcom Media and Affiliates. The details, including your email address/mobile number, may be used to keep you informed about future products and services.

Test Your Knowledge

Which of the following is correct about Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever (RMSF)?

Recent Posts